Academics

2017/2018 Catalog > Computer Information Systems > Computer Information Systems
Please select from the following degrees, which are available for this program of study:

Your fascination with computers could lead you straight into some of the hottest career fields. This program will prepare you for an exciting and rewarding career in the field of Information Technology. You will learn about computer programming and software design to help you prepared for a career field that is bursting with opportunity. Computer programmers utilize their knowledge of different programming languages to create and modify software applications. Common tasks include debugging program code and designing flowcharts to help plan software coding. From day one, we are committed to your future and look forward to working with you to make your dreams and goals a reality.

  • Application Analysts
  • Programmer Analysts
  • Business Analysts
  • Software Developers
  • Computer Support Specialists
  • Systems Analysts
  • Entry-Level Database Programmers
  • System Managers
  • Entry-Level Programmers
  • User Support Specialists
  • PC Support Specialists
  • Web Developers

National career and salary information

Full Time Faculty

Mark Choman
mchoman@luzerne.edu * 800-377-5222 x7722
Office: Bldg 7 - Business & Information Sciences Center Rm 711

Sheila Gionfriddo
sgionfriddo@luzerne.edu * 800-377-5222 x7549
Office: Bldg 7 - Business & Information Sciences Center Rm 701D

Marianne Ostrowsky
mostrowsky@luzerne.edu * 800-377-5222 x7531
Office: Bldg 7 - Business & Information Sciences Center Rm 701E

Donald Weidner
eweidner@luzerne.edu * 800-377-5222 x7316
Office: Bldg 7 - Business & Information Sciences Center Rm 701M

Shirley Yanovich
syanovich@luzerne.edu * 800-377-5222 x7586
Office: Bldg 7 - Business & Information Sciences Center Rm 701B

Adjunct Faculty

Colleen Beavers
cbeavers@luzerne.edu

Timothy Corey
tcorey@luzerne.edu

Joan Cunard
jcunard@luzerne.edu

Chris DiTroia
cditroia@luzerne.edu

Robert Dushok
bdushok@luzerne.edu * 800-377-5222 x7327
Office: Bldg 14 - Campus Center/Schulman Gallery Rm 103

Kevin Jones
kjones@luzerne.edu * 800-377-5222 x7675
Office: Bldg 12 - Technology Center Rm 263

John Krasnahill
jkrasnahill@luzerne.edu

John Kravich
jkravich@luzerne.edu * 800-377-5222 x7517
Office: Bldg 30 - Culinary Arts Rm 106

Russell Lentini
rlentini@luzerne.edu

Colin Martinson
cmartinson@luzerne.edu

Judith Myers
jmyers@luzerne.edu * 800-377-5222 x7753
Office: Bldg 5 - Enrollment and Admissions Center Rm 508F

Joseph Nester
jnester@luzerne.edu * 800-377-5222 x7616
Office: Bldg 14 - Campus Center/Schulman Gallery Rm 112

Ann Roslevich
aroslevich@luzerne.edu

Bonnie Shoemaker
bshoemaker@luzerne.edu

Mark Sorokach
msorokach@luzerne.edu

Allison Yourechko
ayourechko@luzerne.edu

The CIS Department is housed in the Business & Information Sciences Center Building. The Center consists of multiple computer labs and classrooms featuring the latest hardware and software using both PC and Apple platforms.

  • Job/Career Fair
    A great opportunity for our students to learn more about area businesses. It provides an opportunity for student to explore the major choice options. This event provides a way for students to engage with area business to discuss future career internships/job opportunities. Our alumni are invited to participate which gives students an opportunity to network and learn about the world of work.
  • Business Etiquette Luncheon
    The luncheon designed to inform students on how to dress and shake hands as well as eating and drinking at a luncheon. It will address small talk and conversation stoppers in additional to conversational zones.
  • Computer Club
    Our club works toward keeping students on top of the ever changing technology. It provides our students with the opportunity to learn more about the field of information technology and to network with people working in the IT field by gaining information through field trips and guest speakers, exploring job recruitment opportunities and practicing in social networking events.
  • Tech Tuesday
    Short presentations on technology topics. They are generally geared toward students interested in new technology.
  • Web Presentations (Webbies)
    The CIS department will show case our Web Development Technology students to the college and community. This event is set up much like an American Idol competition where the students will present their completed projects for various organizations in Northeast PA. Our distinguished expert panel of judges will be questioning and critiquing the students after they present their projects; and after a brief intermission, they will select the winner of the Web Development Technology Award (aka: Webbie Award).

Photos

Computer Information Systems
Computer Information Systems
Computer Information Systems
Computer Information Systems
Computer Information Systems
Computer Information Systems
Computer Information Systems
Computer Information Systems
Computer Information Systems
Computer Information Systems
Computer Information Systems