Academics

2017/2018 Catalog > Computer Information Systems > Computer Information Systems
Please select from the following degrees, which are available for this program of study:

Your fascination with computers could lead you straight into some of the hottest career fields. This program will prepare you for an exciting and rewarding career in the field of Information Technology. You will learn about computer programming and software design to help you prepared for a career field that is bursting with opportunity. Computer programmers utilize their knowledge of different programming languages to create and modify software applications. Common tasks include debugging program code and designing flowcharts to help plan software coding. From day one, we are committed to your future and look forward to working with you to make your dreams and goals a reality.

  • Application Analysts
  • Programmer Analysts
  • Business Analysts
  • Software Developers
  • Computer Support Specialists
  • Systems Analysts
  • Entry-Level Database Programmers
  • System Managers
  • Entry-Level Programmers
  • User Support Specialists
  • PC Support Specialists
  • Web Developers

National career and salary information

Mark Choman, Faculty - Computer Information Systems
mchoman@luzerne.edu * 800-377-5222 x7722
Office: Bldg 7 - Business & Information Sciences Center Rm 711
Timothy Corey
tcorey@luzerne.edu
Joan Cunard
jcunard@luzerne.edu
Karen Dessoye, Faculty - Computer Information Systems
kdessoye@luzerne.edu * 800-377-5222 x7548
Office: Bldg 7 - Business & Information Sciences Center Rm 701G
Chris DiTroia
cditroia@luzerne.edu
Robert Dushok, Director of Enterprise Systems and Computer Labs
bdushok@luzerne.edu * 800-377-5222 x7327
Office: Bldg 14 - Campus Center/Schulman Gallery Rm 103
Patti Fayash
pfayash@luzerne.edu
Kimberly Frey
kfrey@luzerne.edu
Sheila Gionfriddo, Faculty - Computer Information Systems
sgionfriddo@luzerne.edu * 800-377-5222 x7549
Office: Bldg 7 - Business & Information Sciences Center Rm 701D
Jana Koval
jkoval@luzerne.edu
John Krasnahill
jkrasnahill@luzerne.edu
John Kulick, Instructional Technology Support Specialist
jkulick@luzerne.edu * 800-377-5222 x7255
Office: Bldg 14 - Campus Center/Schulman Gallery Rm 101
Colin Martinson
cmartinson@luzerne.edu
Judith Myers, Administrative Systems Manager/Student System
jmyers@luzerne.edu * 800-377-5222 x7753
Office: Bldg 5 - Enrollment and Admissions Center Rm 508F
Joseph Nester, Instructional Technology Support Specialist
jnester@luzerne.edu * 800-377-5222 x7616
Office: Bldg 14 - Campus Center/Schulman Gallery Rm 112
Marianne Ostrowsky, Faculty - Computer Information Systems
mostrowsky@luzerne.edu * 800-377-5222 x7531
Office: Bldg 7 - Business & Information Sciences Center Rm 701E
Ann Roslevich
aroslevich@luzerne.edu
Bonnie Shoemaker
bshoemaker@luzerne.edu
Maureen Snell
msnell@luzerne.edu
Mark Sorokach
msorokach@luzerne.edu
Donald Weidner, Faculty - Computer Information Systems
eweidner@luzerne.edu * 800-377-5222 x7316
Office: Bldg 7 - Business & Information Sciences Center Rm 701M
Shirley Yanovich, Faculty - Computer Information Systems
syanovich@luzerne.edu * 800-377-5222 x7586
Office: Bldg 7 - Business & Information Sciences Center Rm 701B
Allison Yourechko
ayourechko@luzerne.edu

The CIS Department is housed in the Business & Information Sciences Center Building. The Center consists of multiple computer labs and classrooms featuring the latest hardware and software using both PC and Apple platforms.

  • Job/Career Fair
    A great opportunity for our students to learn more about area businesses. It provides an opportunity for student to explore the major choice options. This event provides a way for students to engage with area business to discuss future career internships/job opportunities. Our alumni are invited to participate which gives students an opportunity to network and learn about the world of work.
  • Business Etiquette Luncheon
    The luncheon designed to inform students on how to dress and shake hands as well as eating and drinking at a luncheon. It will address small talk and conversation stoppers in additional to conversational zones.
  • Computer Club
    Our club works toward keeping students on top of the ever changing technology. It provides our students with the opportunity to learn more about the field of information technology and to network with people working in the IT field by gaining information through field trips and guest speakers, exploring job recruitment opportunities and practicing in social networking events.
  • Tech Tuesday
    Short presentations on technology topics. They are generally geared toward students interested in new technology.
  • Web Presentations (Webbies)
    The CIS department will show case our Web Development Technology students to the college and community. This event is set up much like an American Idol competition where the students will present their completed projects for various organizations in Northeast PA. Our distinguished expert panel of judges will be questioning and critiquing the students after they present their projects; and after a brief intermission, they will select the winner of the Web Development Technology Award (aka: Webbie Award).

Photos

Diversity
Diversity
Diversity
Diversity
Diversity
Diversity
Diversity
Diversity
Diversity
Diversity
Diversity