Academics

2018/2019 Catalog > Health & Physical Education > Health, Physical Education & Exercise Science
Please select from the following degrees, which are available for this program of study:

See also Education - Health, Physical Education K-12 Associate in Science

Exercise science and health fitness is designed to provide an education for students to pursue career in adult fitness, sports conditioning or health promotion. Job markets in fields related to this program are expanding as our society continues to become more health conscious and aware of the benefits of fitness as a way of life. The curriculum offers courses that are also appropriate for students interested in pursuing a degree in sports management, kinesiology, sports studies, athletic training, sport physical therapy, physical therapy, and therapeutic recreation.

Emphasis is on an understanding of the human body, lifetime fitness principles and training techniques, prevention and care of exercise related injuries, nutrition, weight control, stress management, and other related lifestyle wellness topics. Students will learn to conduct fitness assessments and skills in the design, implementation, and supervision of individualized exercise and lifestyle change prescriptions. Exercise leadership development will focus on the acquisition of medically and biomechanically safe techniques in strength training, flexibility training, and cardiovascular conditioning.

Professional preparation in exercise science and health fitness offers employment opportunities as:

  • Personal trainers
  • Fitness and health promotion directors for employee work site and hospital-based fitness/wellness programs
  • Exercise specialists for cardiac rehabilitation programs
  • Exercise physiologists with sports medicine centers
  • Strength and conditioning specialists for college and professional athletic teams
  • Fitness and wellness coordinators with health clubs, YMCA's, resorts, hotels and government and recreation agencies

Bureau of Labor Statistics - Fitness Trainers and Instructors

Bureau of Labor Statistics - Exercise Physiologists

Bureau of Labor Statistics - Recreation and Fitness Studies Teachers, Postsecondary

Full Time Faculty

Edward Gurtis
egurtis@luzerne.edu * 800-377-5222 x7566
Office: Bldg 9 - College Hall Rm 924S

Adjunct Faculty

Stacey Canfield
scanfield@luzerne.edu

Kathleen Clemente
kclemente@luzerne.edu * 800-377-5222 x7514
Office: Bldg 30 - Culinary Arts Rm 112

Miranda Costa
mcosta@luzerne.edu * 800-377-5222 x7237
Office: Bldg 14 - Campus Center/Schulman Gallery Rm Gym

Geoffrey Dixon
gdixon@luzerne.edu

Christine Fazzi
cfazzi@luzerne.edu

Kara Hodorowski
kchacko@luzerne.edu

Anne Holmes
aholmes@luzerne.edu

Caroline Lobos
clobos@luzerne.edu

Amy Polites-Feese
afeese@luzerne.edu

Cynthia Rupp
crupp@luzerne.edu

Ronald Strothers
rstrothers@luzerne.edu * 800-377-5222 x7440
Office: Bldg 8 - James T. Atherton Gymnasium Rm 811

Susan Vosik Pekala
svosik@luzerne.edu

The Exercise Science Program utilizes a full-size gymnasium as well as a Strength Training and Cardiovascular Fitness Centers in the Campus Center. Some sample exercise equipment includes:
Cardiovascular Equipment

  • Arc Machine (4)
  • Elliptical (4)
  • Indoor Bikes (8)
  • Rowing Machine (4)
  • Ski Erg (1)
  • Treadmills (9)

Weight Room Equipment
  • Curl Bars (30lbs - 100lbs)
  • Farmers Walk Logs
  • Free Weights (2lbs - 120lbs)
  • Lifting Chains
  • Multi-Purpose Cable Machine
  • Resistance Machines
  • Rubber Plates
  • Smith Machine
  • Squat Rack
  • Weightlifting Bars

Additional Fitness Apparatus
  • Bosu Balls
  • Body Blade
  • Bongo Board
  • Kettlebells
  • Medicine Balls
  • Plyometric Boxes
  • Resistance Bands
  • Speed Ropes
  • Slideboard
  • Weighted Body Bars
  • Yoga Mats

Photos

Exercise Science and Health Fitness
Exercise Science and Health Fitness
Exercise Science and Health Fitness
Exercise Science and Health Fitness
Exercise Science and Health Fitness
Exercise Science and Health Fitness
Exercise Science and Health Fitness
Exercise Science and Health Fitness
Exercise Science and Health Fitness
Exercise Science and Health Fitness
Exercise Science and Health Fitness
Exercise Science and Health Fitness