LCCC Logo

Student Life at Luzerne County Community College offers a variety of choices and great fun. Check out the list of student organizations on campus. Whether you wish to participate in the Student Government, Adult Learners Association, Circle K or work with the school newspaper, radio, or TV station, we have an organization to fit your interests.

ACLU - to serve as educator and advocators of civil liberty issues; to advocate for civil liberties on campus and the greater Wyoming Valley community and to monitor for civil rights issues by local, state and federal government as well as by the college administration.
Advisor: Martha Pezzino - mpezzino@luzerne.edu (570) 740-437

Adult Learners Association - provides a support group for adult students through community service projects, fund raising and yearly field trips.
Advisor: Ed Hennigan - ehennigan@luzerne.edu (570) 740-0399

Alpha Sigma Lambda Society - the national honor society for adult learners. Alpha Sigma Lambda was founded to honor those dedicated adult students who accomplish academic excellence while managing the responsibilities of work and family. Membership to Alpha Sigma Lambda is extended to students who rank in the top 20 percent of those students who have completed 24 undergraduate credits with a minimum of 12 credits in liberal arts and sciences.
Advisor: Ed Hennigan - ehennigan@luzerne.edu (570) 740-0399

Architecture and Design Club - to promote the field of architecture both on campus and in the community though special events and academic and social interaction.
Advisor: Brian Overman - boverman@luzerne.edu (570) 740-0621

Brothers and Sisters in Christ (BASIC) - provides a place to find others who are seeking spiritual truth through Christianity to provide purpose in their lives
Advisor: Glenda Race - grace@luzerne.edu and Machelle Smith - msmith@luzerne.edu (570) 740-0733

Business Club - the purpose of the Business Club is to enhance the learning and experience of Business majors by participating in business activities such as speakers, site visits and training. It is also to encourage the networking of Business majors amongst their peers and business professionals.
Advisor: Walter Janoski - wjanoski@luzerne.edu (570) 740-0568

Chess Club - provides a forum for students and community members to play chess, conduct tournaments, matches, and other forms of competition.
Advisor: Henry Hunsinger - hhunsinger@luzerne.edu

Circle K Club - to provide an opportunity for leadership training through service to the campus and the community
Advisors: Main Campus - Michelle Fine - mfine@luzerne.edu
Berwick Campus - Rose Goin - rgoin@luzerne.edu (570)759-3900

Computer Club - to provide students with the opportunity to learn more about the field of information technology and to network with people working in the IT field by gaining information through field trips and guest speakers, exploring employment opportunities and job requirements, and participating in events.
Advisor: Shirley Yanovich - syanovich@luzerne.edu (570) 740- 0586

Criminal Justice - Shamokin - Increases awareness of criminal justice functions through open forums, speakers and community outreach.
Advisor: Jeffrey Brennan - jbrennan@luzerne.edu (570) 648-2544

Drama Club - to promote a better understanding and appreciation of the arts through the creation of an active and intelligent interest in dramatic arts.
Advisor: Ron Rogers - rrogers@luzerne.edu (570) 740-0423

Gaming Club - provides members a learning opportunity in the areas of gaming reason and logic across the vast array of consoles, boards, and desks.
Advisor: Ron Rogers - rrogers@luzerne.edu (570) 0423

Health Science Club - promote, educate and learn aspects of the Physical Education Field.
Advisor: Miranda Costa - mcosta@luzerne.edu (570) 740-0237

History Club - to expand opportunities for students to learn about, experience and enjoy history through field trips, films and other activities
Advisors: Main Campus - Jeff Schultz - jschultz@luzerne.edu (570) 740-0511
Shamokin Campus - Michelle Jacobs- mjacobs@luzerne.edu (570)590-6884

Hotel and Restaurant/Travel Tourism Club - to provide members with the opportunity to obtain insights into the hotel, restaurant and other related fields, to become involved in various hotel and restaurant, academic, social, community and culinary activities and to promote an interest in these areas.
Advisor: Sal Shandra - sshandra@luzerne.edu (570) 740-0516

LCCC Democrats - promotes commitment to the Democratic Party through political activism at LCCC.
Advisor: Thomas Shubilla - tshubilla@luzerne.edu (570) 740-0546

Literary Arts Club - to promote the acquisition of knowledge and appreciation of literature and the arts in many and various forms through promotion of leadership activities and community service and involvement. Each year the Club publishes the online magazine, Augustine.
Advisor: Mary Stchur - mstchur@luzerne.edu (570) 740-0600

NAACP - To ensure the political, educational, social, and economic equality of minority groups; To promote diversity and cultural awareness at Luzerne County Community College
Advisors: Ron Strothers - rstrothers@luzerne.edu (570) 740-0440

National Organization for Women - Campus Action Network (NOW) - dedicated to making legal, political, social and economic change in our society in order to achieve our goal, which is to eliminate sexism and end all oppression.
Advisor: Sally Healey - shealey@luzerne.edu

Nursing Forum - to provide a means of interaction to explore common interest, issues and goals in order to expand knowledge in the field of nursing.
Advisors: Main Campus Margaret Sosnak - msosnak@luzerne.edu (570) 740-0581
Kulpmont: Tracy Glaser - tglaser@luzerne.edu

Paranormal Society - To conduct events and activities to investigate and gain knowledge of the paranormal.
Advisor: Ron Rogers - rrogers@luzerne.edu

Pastry Arts Club - enhances the culinary educational experience and provides the opportunity to pursue the mastery of overall pastry art techniques.
Advisor: Dave Pembleton - dpembleton@luzerne.edu (570) 740-0284

Peer Mentors - Mentors are trained in various areas of campus life, communication, decision making, listening and much more. They work with LCCC students to offer guidance, assistance, information, and experience. Peer mentors help students get involved around campus, answer questions about academics, study habits and other college tips.
Advisor: Ursula Tracy - utracy@luzerne.edu (570) 740-0402

Photo Club - to provide an opportunity for students to progress and develop both artistically as well as technically in photography by encouraging the professionalism, competence and discipline in the art of photography.
Advisor: Mark James - mjames2@luzerne.edu (570) 740-0738

Phi Theta Kappa - the International Honor Society of Two Year Colleges offers leadership, fellowship, honors topic studies and exclusive scholarships. Membership is open to current students with a GPA of 3.5 or greater.
Advisor: Stephen Housenick - shousenick@luzerne.edu (570) 740-0618
Website: http://clubs.luzerne.edu/ptk/

Philosophy Club - Examines and discusses philosophical issues, ideas, and concepts.
Advisor: Martha Pezzino - mpezzino@luzerne.edu (570) 740-0437

Psi Beta - the National honor Society in Psychology for Community and Junior Colleges offers professional development of psychology students through promotion and recognition of excellence in s scholarship, leadership, research and community service. To qualify, students must rank in the top 35 percent of their class or have a GPA of 3.0, have at least a B in psychology classes and demonstrate a genuine interest in psychology.
Advisor: Lynn Griilli - lgrilli@luzerne.edu (570) 740-0532

Psychology Club - a group that welcomes those intrigued by thought processes and behaviors. This is a social forum open regardless of major for those interested in gaining knowledge, researching, and discussing psychology in its many differing views. The Psychology Club also partners with Psi Beta service activities. This club hosts a number of events while exploring the world through a psychological lens.
Advisors: Main Campus - Lynn Grilli - lgrilli@luzerne.edu (570) 740-0532
Shamokin Campus - Vincent Chesney - vchesney@luzerne.edu (570) 648-2544

SAFE (Student Alliance for Equality) - create a safe space for members of the LGBTQ community and their allies to learn about one another, the community as a whole and that they can do as individuals or as a group to further the cause of inclusion and equality in society.
Advisor: Susan Gilroy King - sgilroy@luzerne.edu

Science Club - promotes the field of science both on campus and in the community
Advisor: Mary James - mjames@luzerne.edu
Brooke Yeager - byeager@luzerne.edu

Sigma Kappa Delta - the English Honor Society of Two Year Colleges; to qualify for membership a student must have completed a minimum of one college course in English Language or literature and be presently enrolled in a second English language or literature course and have no grade lower than a B in English with a minimum GPA of 3.3. Students are not required to be English majors.
Advisor: Bonnie Pajka- rpajka@luzerne.edu (570) 740-0545

Student American Dental Assistants Association - advance the career of dental assistants and to promote the dental assisting profession in matters of education, legislation, credentialing and professional activities which enhance the delivery of quality dental health care to the public.
Advisor: Donna Lepkoski - dlepkoski@luzerne.edu (570) 740-0460

Student American Dental Hygienist Association - to cultivate, promote and sustain the art and science of dental hygiene and to contribute toward the improvement of the health of the public.
Advisor: Cathryn Brown - cbrown@luzerne.edu (570) 740-0477

Student Government Association - represents each student in the best interests of the college and the community. The organization will be responsible for guiding and directing student activities subject to the regulations of the college administration.
Advisor: Mary Sullivan - msullivan@luzerne.edu (570) 740-0429

Tau Upsilon Alpha - The Honor Society for Human Services, fosters lifelong learning, leadership, and development as well as promotes excellence in service to humanity. Students must have a minimum of 3.25 GPA, be in the top 35 percent of their class, and have completed 12 credit hours towards an associate degree.
Advisor: Andrea Pabon - apabon@luzerne.edu (570) 740-0528

TV-LCCC - provides a way for students to gain hands-on experience in television production. The station also produces a number of special presentations of various campus events, many for DVD and web distribution.
Advisor: Tom McHugh - tmchugh@luzerne.edu (570) 740-0630

Veterans
Advisor: Jim Shovlin - jshovlin@luzerne.edu (570) 740-0401

WSFX Radio Club - offers an opportunity to students to further their interest in radio broadcasting as a curriculum choice or an extra curricular activity. Offers students on air music shifts, sports broadcasting, news reporting opportunities and other opportunities associated with radio broadcasting.
Advisor: Ron Reino - (570) 740-0632 WSFX Online